Getting Started

 

I have thought about a blog for a long time. Mostly, I doubt I am committed enough to update often enough to keep readers. When I thought about a theme that would allow me to talk about the widest variety of subjects, tools seemed perfect.

So, let’s get started.

One of the tools I’ve used the longest is probably my Shaeffer Cartridge Calligraphy Pen. I bought it in 1993 for my first calligraphy class. The class was taught by a grey-haired lady named Margaret at the Ben Franklin in Memphis, Tennessee. Shaeffer quit making this pen a few years ago, which is too bad because it’s the perfect beginner’s pen. I’ve mostly moved on to dip pens but there aren’t many pens this portable or convenient for little jobs.

I have a love/hate relationship with calligraphy. I love how good a well-formed stroke looks, but it’s so infrequent that such a stroke comes from my pen. I am also not willing to put the time in required to be really good at it. So, my drafting table takes up too much room by my favorite window and is often taken up with other projects but there are some days I am happy to be able to take out my inks and pens and see what happens.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Getting Started

  1. I love it…and the photos are good, too.
    Just think of the sophisticated tools you’re able to use to communicate your art and message, compared to the earliest scribes. You’ve had opportunities to share God’s Words, as did they, but yours in a more creative way. You add to the beauty of His Word, bringing honor to Him.
    Well done!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

