Front Door Vinyl

My Silhouette cutter is a great tool!

You just have to go on Pinterest to find TONS of ways to use a cutter.

A few people have suggested I make money with it, you know, cut images and throw them up on Etsy.

I always respond in my best Harry Connick, Jr.  voice – not really but I do quote him when I hear this suggestion — so imagine it,

“You’re talking about the American Dream. You find something you love then you twist it. You torture it; trying to find a way to make money at it. You spend a lifetime doing that. And at the end, you can’t find a trace of what you started out loving.”

That is so true, so my silhouette remains a source of my own entertainment, that’s all.

So, why is it a cool tool?

It has no limits, I can use any font, it will trace images from jpgs, pngs, gifs, etc. Actually, the only limitation I have found so far is my own knowledge.

be-bold

Get it? It’s a font joke.

I already blogged about my laptop skin. I have moved on since then and created a different skin.

But the latest project came from seeing this:family name

Cool Right?

I wanted that in my house. But when I typed out my name with that font I realized that wasn’t at all me. The longer I thought about it the more I decided it was like picking a font for my house and that was the wrong one. (See, working for a Graphic Designer for the last two years has rubbed off)!

So I came up with this:
front-door

Here it is up close: front-door2

Eventually I landed on Birmingham for the font, and Bergamot for the doo-dad.

So, there you have it, just another reason why my Silhouette vinyl cutter is a cool tool.

Categories: Tools, Vinyl | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Front Door Vinyl

  1. Neal Lord

    Kelly that is an awesome idea! I am disappointed that one of you don’t jokes didnt include something about comic sans…

  2. Pingback: Split Initial | A Girl and Her Tools

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

